A strong intermunicipal community

Castle of the Community of Agglomeration Sarreguemines Confluences

The Community of Agglomeration Sarreguemines Confluences is a Public Establishment of Intermunicipal Cooperation (EPCI) created by the law of July 12, 1999 and modified by the law of December 16, 2010.
It brings together several municipalities on a territory in one piece and without enclave. It must form a group of more than 50 000 inhabitants around one or more central municipalities of 15 000 inhabitants.

The Community of Agglomeration Sarreguemines Confluences has 38 municipalities for more than 67 000 inhabitants with a central municipality, Sarreguemines, which approaches 22 000 inhabitants.

What role does the Agglo play?

The Agglo allows municipalities to pool their skills and federate their energies. Thanks to the community, they can implement major local development projects and offer quality services at a controlled cost for the inhabitants.

By forming a single intermunicipal entity, the Sarreguemines Confluences Agglomeration Community thus has more weight and resources to financially support the strengthening of services to the population (nurseries, transport, household waste, sanitation, etc.) , strengthen the economic and tourist attractiveness of the territory and carry out large-scale projects that the municipalities could not carry out alone.

Strengthening the quality of life in the territory means promoting economic development and preparing for the future by creating wealth and jobs.

Agglo Community Hotel

A seat steeped in history

Also called “Château Utzschneider” or “Château Pierron”, it is a typical example of late 19th and early 20th century architecture.
Architects Gotfried Julius Berninger and Gustave Krafft from Strasbourg, from the school of architecture in Stuttgart, built this house in 1906 for Marie Utzschneider. The Utzschneider family, owners of the famous Sarreguemines earthenware factories, occupied this residence for 33 years.

Between 1940 and 1944, the building was occupied by the Nazis. It served at the Liberation in 1944-1945 as a quarter for the Americans.

The property then remained neglected for a long time until Marcel Pierron acquired the stables in 1956 and the castle in 1958 for its scientific and educational facilities. In 1983, the company moved to the industrial area and the villa was once again abandoned, until it was bought by the District of Sarreguemines in the early 1990s.

Castle of the Community of Agglomeration Sarreguemines Confluences

Today, the main building and its annexes have been renovated and restored and house the administrative services of the Agglomeration Community. The park has also been redesigned and is accessible to walkers during the day.


The Community Council

He is elected by the community councillors. He represents the executive of the Agglomeration Community.
His role :
– set the agenda and chair the meetings of the Bureau and the Board
– implement decisions with the help of the services
– decide on the expenses to be incurred

They represent the President for the exercise of the various powers of the Public Establishment for Intermunicipal Cooperation (EPCI). The law regulates their number according to the size of the community council.

meeting of the Sarreguemines Confluences Agglomeration Community

The community council is made up of 80 elected officials who have appointed the President of the Agglo and the Vice-presidents. It is the deliberative body of the Agglomeration Community. It decides on community development guidelines and makes all budgetary decisions. It debates and then votes on the proposals submitted to it by the Bureau. The decisions of the community council are then transcribed in the form of deliberations.

Community councilors are elected at the same time as municipal councilors for municipalities with more than 1 inhabitants. For municipalities with less than 000 inhabitants, the representatives are appointed during the election of mayors in the order of the table. They are elected for 1 years. The term of office is identical to that of municipal councillors.

Sarreguemines: 22 seats
Sarralbé: 5 seats
Grosbliederstroff: 4 seats
Woustviller, Puttelange-aux-Lacs and Hambach: 3 seats per municipality
Rouhling, Willerwald, Rémelfing, Neufgrange, Hundling, Sarreinsming, Holving, Rémering-lès-Puttelange: 2 seats per municipality
Wiesviller, Bliesbruck, Saint-Jean-Rohrbach, Loupershouse, Lixing-lès-Rouhling, Hilsprich, Le Val de Guéblange, Kalhausen, Zetting, Wittring, Ippling, Woelfling-lès-Sarreguemines, Grundviller, Siltzheim, Blies-Guersviller, Blies-Ebersing , Frauenberg, Ernestviller, Guebenhouse, Kappelkinger, Richeling, Nelling, Kirviller and Hazembourg: 1 seat per municipality

the agglomeration

Informs you

Always closer to you!

How a decision cycle works

The commissions issue an opinion, follow the progress of the projects, suggest lines of thought around new actions, without having any decision-making power. They are chaired by the President of the Agglo, or by delegation by the designated Vice-President(s).

Finance Committee: finance, taxation, support funds, personnel, insurance, domains.
Economic Development Committee: economic activities, management of business parks, SEML Sarreguemines Confluences, business support, early childhood, tourism.
Regional planning committee: sustainable development, town planning, new information and communication technologies, electronic communications, transport, cycle paths, cross-border affairs.
Environment and Living Environment Committee: sanitation, drinking water, fight against floods/GEMAPI, household and similar waste, community city policy, housing, travellers, animal pound, SDIS.
Education – Sport – Culture Commission: education, sports equipment, media library and public reading network, entertainment, communication.

So that the opinions adopted by the committees can be validated, the Bureau meets to prepare the community council. The Bureau decides on the projects that will be presented to the council.
It is made up of the President, the Vice-Presidents who are not mayors and the mayors of the member municipalities.

meeting of the Sarreguemines Confluences Agglomeration Community

The conference of mayors

The Conference of Mayors is a permanent body for consultation, arbitration and validation of the main political orientations. It is the guarantor of the coherence of the strategic lines and of the cohesion on the scale of the territory.


Organization chart of elected officials